Under Virginia Code of law, driving without valid insurance can result in a conviction with serious penalties, depending mostly on the circumstances. The individual has to meet at least three coverage requirements when he purchases auto insurance:
A- Bodily injury of a person, covering $25,000
B- Bodily injury of two people, covering $50,000
C- Property damage of up to $20,000
An individual can pay $500 for the uninsured motor vehicle (UMV) that allows him to drive the uninsured vehicle for an extended time. In case the individual fails to do that and he does not get his vehicle insured, he will be convicted of a Class 3 Misdemeanor and will be forced to pay $500 as a penalty. He may even lose his driver’s license, license plate, and vehicle registration. Driving without an insurance can result in receiving an order with the aim of maintaining a proof of the insurance certificate on the file for at least three years.
1- Penalties for the convictions of driving without valid or no insurance
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) monitors insurance through an electronic insurance verification program. IF they determine that the individual has been driving his vehicle without proper insurance, the individual will be subject to a $500 fine while losing his driving privileges and receive a suspension of the vehicles registration plates.
Additionally, the individual can be convicted of a Class 3 Misdemeanor if he fails to submit his license plates and drives the vehicle with no insurance while attaining the knowledge that he is driving without insurance. If there is no record of liability insurance, the individual has to submit some proof of insurance before there is a chance of him being fined.
If the individual fails to provide sufficient proof of the active insurance of his vehicle, when required, he will be convicted and may end up facing severe penalties. For each of the offenses, if the individual does not have the adequate coverage or it is found that he has not paid the motor vehicle fee of the uninsured motor vehicle, he is charged with a class 3 misdemeanor. Under Class 3 misdemeanor, the individual is supposed to pay a fine of almost $500 and his driver’s license will be suspended along with his driver’s license and registration.
If an individual wants to get his insurance privileges back, he has to pay a fine of $500 and buy a suitable insurance package for him. The insurer should be requested to file a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate (SR-22) for the DMV as well as pay the reinstatement fee i.e. $145.
2- How an individual can avoid the penalties
The individuals who are not able to buy insurance for their company are given an option to pay $500 for the UMV fee that allows to legally drive their vehicle on the road for up to 12 months. Although it does not give the individual the freedom to drive without insurance, he will not be convicted of driving an uninsured vehicle.
Try to rephrase the plagiarized part:
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) monitors insurance coverage through an electronic insurance verification program. If the DMV determines that you have been driving without the appropriate insurance coverage, you are subject to a $500 fine, the loss of driving privileges and a suspension of your registration plates. In addition, you can be convicted of a Class 3 misdemeanor for immediately failing to surrender your license plates and knowingly driving uninsured (unless the vehicle registration has been deactivated). If no record of liability insurance is found, you’ll have 30 days to submit proof of insurance before you get fined.