Key provisions for the Virginia State for speed laws include; maximum posted speed limit under 70 mph, which the automated speed enforcement is expressly prohibited by statutory provision. This could lead to a maximum fine of $2500 or a 12 months jail time. Licensing actions can include suspension or revocation for racing on highways, aggressive driving or reckless driving.
There are other key provisions as well as every time you get behind the driving wheel, you fully accept the responsibility for your speeding or driving actions. You must fully abide and obey Virginia’s traffic laws and ensure safety and vigilance from your side to safeguard the lives of others on the road. You should make sure safety of you, the passengers travelling with you and other passengers to include motorists, bicyclist or even pedestrians on the roadways or highways.
Taking Care of the Hand Position While Driving
It is important that you sit straight and place both hands on the steering wheel accurately and appropriately. Imagine your steering wheel as a 12 hour clock, then your hands should be at the 8 o’clock and 4 o’clock positions appropriately. Make sure that you hold the wheel with your fingers and thumbs. You must avoid gripping it with your palms as it does not ensures the correct control of your steering wheel.
Taking Care of the Speed Limit
A speed limit is defined as the maximum legal speed which you can drive on a road under ideal conditions. You may drive slowly than the prescribed posted speed limit or you may even drive faster, both can be fined and may lead to consequences. By law, you must drive slower where the traffic signs show and indicate a school zone, work zone or a hospital where you must drive under a prescribed speed limit which is in effect.
The same conditions are applied for road construction or bad weather. The maximum speed limit for passenger vehicles and motorcycles are given below, unless posted otherwise.
- Interstate Highways – 55 – 70 MPH
- Public highways which are not a part of the interstate system – 55 MPH
- Unpaved roads – 35 MPH
- School, business and residential areas – 25 MPH
You must always stop your transportation vehicle at red traffic lights, stop signs and flashing red signals. The same conditions also apply for pedestrians attempting to cross the street or any particular crosswalk. When approaching a stop sign and if a car comes in front of you, then you stop and proceed only if the way in front of you is clear and the car is gone.
These are some of the key provisions which should be taken care of while on the roads in Virginia. This would help you abide by the law, and would also save you from a run in with the law enforcement authorities of the state of Virginia.
Learn about the road laws today, to avoid being sorry later on in life!