Reckless driving is usually considered as a lesser serious offense and most of the citizens don’t consider the laws of reckless driving. But this is not true! Reckless driving is much serious offense just like the driving offenses including DUI, hit and pass or driving with drugs. Therefore there is greater need to focus on understanding what Prince William County reckless driving Laws says states about reckless driving.
Virginia Code of laws are applicable in Prince William County reckless driving Laws, hence Virginia Law Section 46.2- 862, “any person found to be involved in intentional or unintentional inappropriate act of driving a vehicle that can cause a threat to physical well-being, property or life of any individual, outside or inside the vehicle will be considered as Class 1 misdemeanor.”
Penalty of Reckless Driving in Prince William County
According to the Prince William County reckless driving Laws, the penalty of Class 1 misdemeanor consist of approximately $2,500 fine and up to one year of imprisonment.
Another section of Prince William County reckless driving Laws mentions that in case of the lesser serious offense, the driving license of the offender can be suspended for up to 10 days to six months. A restricted license will be issued for important commitments till the original license is suspended. The description manuals of Prince William County reckless driving Laws has also explained some examples of important commitments that could be carried out via restricted license which include drive to school, office, hospital or clinics, visitation for children, religious services, etc. however, there is need of carrying all the essential documents that are described by the court or lawyer after the issuance of restricted license. Furthermore, if the restricted license holder is again charged with a reckless driving ticket then, the court has the authority to dismiss the original license and restricted license of the offender.
Tickets of Reckless Driving
The Prince William County reckless driving Laws offer you two options when you have been charged with a reckless driving ticket, , i.e. either to accept the mistake and prepay the ticket fine or to plead not to be guilty and take the case to the court.
There are three ways to prepay your fine that is associated with the reckless driving ticket i.e. to pay through online payment methods, to pay in person before the court date or to pay through credit card or debit cards. Note that credit card payments can only be made via phone calls, in person or internet and the District Court will calculate 4% of the credit card suitability fee for the payment.
What Would Happen If I Failed to Pay Fines
According to the Prince William County reckless driving Laws, if you failed to pay the fine or ticket payment, or did not appeared in the court before the Court date, your case will be proceeded in the court and the District Court will define the conviction about your absence. The court usually impose a much heavier fine that you have to pay and there is possibility that your privilege of driving could be suspended for lifetime.