According to the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894.
“Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of an accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.”
Any Richmond – Virginian citizen caught violating any clause of this law will be considered guilty of:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor if the accident results in property damages more than $1,000, the victim endures severe physical injuries or if the victim dies.
- Class 5 Felony if the accident results in property damages less than $1000.
Contact Your Richmond – Virginian Lawyer If You Have Been Charged With a Hit and Run
Any driver involved in a car accident leaves the accident scene, will be committing an illegal crime. The driver is legally responsible to remain at the accident site, offer any assistance and aid, and provide the relevant information asked by the law enforcement authorities.
Based on your circumstance, the city of Richmond – Virginia will consider your “hit and run” action as a felony or misdemeanor. The relevant law enforcement authorities can penalize you by
- having you pay a hefty fine
- taking away your driving privileges
- suspending your license
If you have been charged or involved in a motor vehicle accident where you fled the site, contact your Richmond – Virginian lawyer and get their assistance and help. You might find the punishment and penalty for a hit and run charge to take a toll on your life.
Being held for a Hit and Run felony will lead to a severe and grave sentence. The state of Virginia considers this offence as a Class 5 Felony. This means the offender will be serving a maximum period of 10 YEARS OF JAIL TIME!
The penalty and duty for a hit and run crime will differ depending upon:
- Whether the vehicle is unattended or attended
- Whether the victim suffered injuries or is dead
- Whether you are the driver or the passenger
- Whether the property damage is assessed to be more or less of a specified amount
If in the scenario where the victim is not injured, and the estimated value of the damages is found to be below $1000, the state of Virginia’s Commonwealth will consider it a Class 1 Misdemeanor. The offender will be liable to serve a maximum time period of 12 MONTHS AS JAIL TIME and pay a penalty fine of maximum $2,500, or even both.
Charges of hit and run, also known as “failure to report an accident” entails serious consequences in the state of Virginia, which will remain permanently on the driver’s criminal record.
Get the Assistance of Your Skilled and Professional Richmond – Virginian Lawyer
Have you been charged with a hit and run? Contact your Richmond – Virginian lawyer to help you fight and defend your case. You will have to be familiar with all your defense options that your lawyer is an expert on. Not only that, your lawyer is familiar with the entire trial process. Hire an experienced and skilled traffic law attorney to help you defend and win your case.