It is commonly observed that Virginia DUI offenses have resulted in some severe penalties in Virginia which can affect the driver for many years. The article is written to focus mainly on DUI offense in 10 years in Virginia. It is also seen in the past years that penalties for third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia are gathered with breathalyzer refusal or the driver of the minor age.
Here are a number of penalties involved in third DUI offense in 10 years in Virginia:
1- Jail time
There is a minimum of 90 days jail time mandatory on the conviction of third DUI offense in 10 years in Virginia. Also, the driver will face a class 6 felony which means 5 years in prison.
There is a minimum fine of $1000 for convicted a third DUI offense in Virginia within 10 years. This fine is mandatory and can be as high as $2500.
3- Court Costs
The driver who is convicted of a DUI third offense within 10 years in Virginia has to pay an amount for court costs, along with the other fines and fees. Also, the third DUI offense is considered as a felony; the court costs will be much higher than the first or second offense.
4- Trauma Centre Fund
Any driver who is convicted of third time DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia has to pay a fine to the Virginia Trauma center fund.
5- License Revocation
The driving license of the driver will be terminated immediately once the driver is charged with a DUI. The suspension of the license will continue until the day of trial because he is accused of a third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia. The license will be revoked, and then the driver must have to wait for 3 years minimum to apply for a restricted license.
6- Vehicle Forfeiture
The car from which the DUI is committed could be seized or forfeited if the driver is convicted of third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia.
7- Criminal Record
A conviction for a third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia will mark as a criminal record and can not be changed. The driver is considered as a convicted felon.
8- DMV Points
The conviction of third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia will cost you 6 demerit points from y our driving record.
9- Driving Record
The third DUI conviction will mark on your driving record for a minimum period of 11 years.
According to Virginia law, a driver will inevitably face additional penalties if the driver is found to be a minor of under 17 years of age and is found in the car when the DUI is committed. The driver will be facing jail time of minimum 5 days and pay an additional amount of $500 as a fine. The fine and jail time is mandatory, and the fine can be as high as $1000. For more information on the penalties of third DUI offense within 10 years in Virginia, you can get a free consultation from many attorneys in Virginia.