In Virginia, if a driver is found speeding in a careless manner he/she would be handed a reckless driving ticket rather than a speeding ticket. It is important to understand when a person would be charged with a reckless driving ticket and the difference between reckless driving ticket and a speeding ticket.
Difference between reckless driving and speeding ticket
In Virginia there are two types of speeding laws:
- Absolute Laws
- Basic speeding Laws
The absolute laws state that if a person goes beyond the stated speed limit he would be given a speeding ticket. These limits are different for each area, road, and vehicles. Generally, the maximum speed limit in Virginia is 55 miles per hour. However, in certain areas where there are specific signboards allowing drivers to drive up to 60 to 70 miles per hour. Furthermore, the drivers are also not allowed to go beyond the speed limit of 25 miles per hour near the busy school areas. The police in Virginia has legal right to hand you a speeding ticket even if you are driving at an extended speed of just one extra mile per hour. The fine for speeding usually ranges from $6-$8 per extra mile along with a processing fee. The fine can further exceed $200 to $250 if it is a residential or school area.
Reckless driving in Virginia
The reckless driving laws in Virginia are much strict as compared to the speeding laws. The person who is charged with a reckless driving ticket does not only have to pay fine, but they would even need to arrange the court fee as they have committed a criminal offense according to the laws of Virginia. There are three ways where a driver can be charged with the reckless driving offense in Virginia.
- Carelessly driving and causing damage to any living thing or property
- Carelessly driving and endangering any living thing or property
If you are wondering why you are handed over a reckless driving ticket by police in Virginia rather than the speeding ticket so the answer to your query is below;
The Reckless driving law section 46.2 – 862 states that any person is convicted for driving recklessly on the highway of Virginia if he is driving at an exceeded speed of 20 miles per hour. The code even limits the drivers to drive above 80 miles per hour even if the speed limit allows them to.
Penalties for reckless driving speed in Virginia
Usually over speeding in Virginia is treated as a class 1 misdemeanor and the driver is subjected to one or more of the following penalties:
- Heavy fines: up to $2500
- Imprisonment: Reckless driving speed is punishable for 12 months in imprisonment
- Suspension of the driving license: apart from imprisonment and fine, the driver’s driving license can also be suspended for at least 2 to 6 months.
Negative driving points: The department of the motor vehicle even allots 6 demerit points in the driving records of the driver.